Skip to main content area Skip to institutional navigation Skip to sub-navigation

Flag Football

Rosters Due: Friday, September 16, 5:00 pm
Play Begins: Tuesday, September 27, Washburn Field 

The email address that the captain submits on the official roster form will be used to send information regarding schedules, rules, policies, and procedures at least 48 hours before the start of the sport season. 

The Basics

All flag football games are played on the Washburn Field (turf field). League play is organized in accordance with a round robin format scheduling each team to play in an equal number of competitions. Final season rankings will be determined by 1) winning percentage, 2) head to head play, 3) number of forfeits, and/or 4) a tie-breaker. The top teams in each division will advance to a single elimination tournament to determine the overall league champion. All members of the winning team will receive IM Champion t-shirts.

General organizational rules include the following: The playing field consists of seven vs. seven. The game consists of two 20-minute running halves with a five minute half time. If there is a tie after regulation play teams alternate possession on the 10 yard line and have 4 downs to score. 

General playing rules include the following: The offensive team has four possessions to cross the midfield line. After crossing the line, the team obtains a first down. Only soccer or astro-turf shoes are allowed -- no metal spikes. Rushing is allowed only after a 3-second count. The quarterback may not run unless flushed out by the defense. All Flag Football rules may be found in the IM Rules folder.

Unsportsmanlike conduct will not be tolerated. The following behaviors will result in a warning and the possibility of a game ejection and subsequent expulsion: cursing at the officials, supervisors, or opposing players; insulting the officials, supervisors, or opposing players. Participating in a fight and/or intentional/flagrant fouls will result in an automatic ejection. Participants ejected from a game are prohibited in playing in their next TWO scheduled games.

2016-17 Champions


Derek Bell Memorial Squad (members: Will Baird, Austin Davie, Brad Hale, Max Margolin, Thomas Riley, Jack McCormick, Stephan Petersilge, Robbie Twells, and Oliver Skelly)

Past Champions

2015-2016: Balls Deep

2014-2015Scooter Maneuver (members: Will Schube, Bennett Krishock, Ricky Boebel, AJ Grosenbaugh, Sandy Brown, Felix Pronove, Henry Trueheart, Jack Burger, Mikey Poneman, Jack Dimmit and Mike Stevens)

2013-14: What Wouldn't Dougie Do? (members: Tyler Allen (captain), Jack Kreitler, Scott Prior, Michael Idell, PJ Higgins, Will Harris, Taylor Paul, Henry Halle, Sayre Thomas, Gray Ritger, Jack Roos, Andrew Visich, Dylan Davie, Nick Ahrens)

2012-13What Would Dougie Do? (members: Nate Pearson (captain), Charles Curtis, Stephen Rijo, Ted Collins, Halsey Landon, Idy Igleheart, Davis Shamburger, Jack Kreitler, Scott Prior, Jake Smith, Mike Idell, Tyler Allen, Zach Cohen)

2011-2012The Care Bears (members:Jeremy Kazanjian-Amory, Luke Urban, Dan Marion, Cam Hurd, Russ Pagan, Jeff Smith, Nate Burt, Charlie Lovering, Diego Domenech, Faizan Ali-Khan, Chris Dickinson, Jake Heine)

2010-2011Washburn Foundation (members: Benjamin Rosenfeld, Jesse Lerich, Nicky Anastas, Sandy Feuer, Michael Wendorf, Saul Levy, Andrew McGhie, Kevin Ecke, Doug Horton, Matt Franco, Graham Lloyd, Luke Urban, Ryan Payne, Will Troy, Daniel Fuwa, Alex Rasmussen.)

2009-2010: Sexual Tyrannosaurs

2008-2009Luggage Thieves

2007-2008: Alaskan Pipeliners

2006-2007: Pocket Rockets

2005-2006: Team Ten High

2004-2005: Big Up Yourself

2003-2004: Team Ron Rico 

2002-2003: Key West Boomerangs

2001-2002: Slumpbusters

2000-2001: Silicon Implants

1999-2000: Kappa Sigma

1998-1999: Buffalo Wings

1997-1998: Family Love in West Virginia

1996-1997: Zulu

1995-1996: All O.J. Team

1994-1995: Fiji