Getting a Driver's License
Driving an Automobile in Colorado
Any person who operates a motor vehicle, motor-driven cycle or moped on the public streets & highways in Colorado is required to be at least 16 years of age and have a valid driver's license. Many international students choose to get a driver's license while studying in the U.S.
- Make an appointment at one of the designated Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offices to obtain a license
- You may be required to take a written test or a driving (road) test – (country specific)
- Keep in mind that first-year students at Colorado College are not eligible to bring a car to campus.
Students must wait 10-15 days after entering the U.S. before applying for a Colorado Driver's license, instruction permit, or ID card. Applicant's status will be verified by the DMV through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE). Student must be registered in SEVIS and allow time for port of entry data to transfer to SAVE.
The following items are needed to apply for a Colorado Driver’s license:
- Form I-20 (F-1 students) or Form DS-2019 (J-1 students)
- I-94 number (electronic I-94 record can be accessed via: www.cbp.gov\I94).
- One other form of identification (such as your CC student ID card)
- Proof of Colorado residency such as a copy of your apartment lease, bank statement from a Colorado bank, or electric utility bill showing your residence address
Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Colorado Springs - Map
2447 North Union Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
M-F, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Full service office: CO License, CO State ID, Driving Exam, Driving Test
During your driver license office visit, expect the following:
- Present your required identification documents to driver license employee for review
- Take the written exam
- Take an eye test
- Pay applicable fee after passing written test
- Take the drive skills test
- Pay applicable fee after passing driving test
You may take your written exam and eye exam, purchase an instruction permit, take drive skills test and purchase a driver license on the same day if over 18 years old. Minors under 18 years old must hold their permit for at least one year prior to testing and applying for a driver license.
Applicants may work with a driving school to complete testing.
The written test is not very difficult, but you will need to study! You may download the Colorado Driver Handbook for more information about Colorado driving requirements. Everything you will need to know for the written test is contained in the handbook.
Fees may be paid with cash, personal check or credit card (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover Card).
Please note: Colorado law prohibits a person from holding both a valid CO driver's license and a CO State identification card. You cannot be issued an identification card if you hold a valid driver's license.