Upcoming and Recent Seminars - 2023/24

Block 1 Seminars

Wednesday Sep 6, 2023

Wonderful Wednesday 9/6

Wednesday, September 6 (Week 2)

TSC 122

3:30 pm: Snacks!

4:00 - 5:00 pm: Dr. Venkat Guruswami, UC Berkeley

Zoom

Efficient Algorithms

Friday Sep 8, 2023

Fearless Friday 9/8

Friday, September 8 (Week 2)

TSC 122

12:00 pm:  Pizza!

12:30 – 1:30pm: Prof. Beth Malmskog

Zoom

B1W2-Fearless-Friday_Squaring-the-Quilting-Circle.png

 

Friday Sep 15, 2023

Fearless Friday 9/15

Friday, September 15 (Week 3)

TSC 122

12:00 - Pizza!

12:30 – 1:30 pm: Prof. Luis David Garcia Puente

Zoom

B1W3-Fearless-Friday_Arithmetical-Structures.png 

 

Block 2 Seminars

Friday Oct 6, 2023

Fearless Friday 10/6

Friday, October 6 (Week 2)

TSC 122

12:00 - Pizza!

12:30 – 1:30 pm: Prof. Janet Burge

Zoom

B2W2-Fearless-Friday_Making-Meetings-More-Meaningful.png

Friday Oct 13, 2023

Fearless Friday 10/13

Friday, September 15 (Week 3)

TSC 122

12:00 - Pizza!

12:30 – 1:30 pm: Dr. David Radke  CC '18

Zoom

B2W3-Fearless-Friday-Multiagent-Systems-and-the-Future-of-Team-Sports-Analytics.png 

 

Block 3 Seminars

Friday Oct 27, 2023

Fearless Friday 10/27

Friday, October 27 (Week 1)

TSC 122

12:00 - Pizza!

12:30 – 1:30 pm: Dr. Jason Rosenhouse, US Air Force Academy & James Madison University

Zoom

B3W1-Fearless-Friday-Saga-of-the-Hardest-Logic-Puzzle-Ever_Faces.png

Friday Nov 10, 2023

Fearless Friday 11/10

Friday, Nov 10 (Week 3)

TSC 213

1:00 - 2:00 pm: Dr. Kirsten Eilertson, Colorado State University

Zoom

B3W3-The-Analysis-of-Cognitive-Data.png

Block 4 Seminars

Friday Dec 1, 2023

Fearless Friday 12/1

Friday, Dec 1 (Week 1)

TSC 213

12:00 - Pizza!

12:30 - 1:30 pm: Dr. Scott Chapman, Sam Houston State University

Zoom

 B4W1-The-Mathematics-of-Chicken-McNuggets.png

Friday Dec 8, 2023

Fearless Friday 12/8

Friday, Dec 8 (Week 2)

TSC 122

12:00 - Pizza!

12:30 - 1:30 pm: Prof. Joseph Rennie

Zoom

 Fearless-Friday-Dec-8th.png

Friday Dec 15, 2023

Fearless Friday 12/15

Friday, Dec 15 (Week 3)

TSC 122

1:00 - 2:00 pm: Dr. Janet Heine Barnett, Colorado State University Pueblo

Zoom

 B4W3-The-French-Connection.png

Block 5 Seminars

Friday Jan 26, 2024

Fearless Friday 1/26

Friday, Jan 26 (Week 1)

TSC 213

3:00 - 4:00 pm: Dr. Angel Chavez, Visiting Assistant Professor, Regis University

Zoom

 B5W1-Fearless-Friday-Polynomial-Norms-of-Graphs.png

Friday Feb 2, 2024

Fearless Friday 2/2

Friday, Feb 2 (Week 2)

 TSC 122

12:00 - Pizza!

12:30 - 1:30 pm: Prof. David Brown

Zoom

 B5W2-Fearless-Friday-Turings-Other-Big-Idea.png

Friday Feb 9, 2024

Fearless Friday 2/9

Friday, Feb 9 (Week 3)

 TSC 122

1:00 - 2:00 pm: Dr. Padi Fuster, NSF MPS-Ascend Postdoctoral Fellow, CU Boulder

Zoom

 B5W3-Fearless-Friday-Modelling-the-world-through-a-PDE-analyst-lens.png

Block 6 Seminars

Friday Feb 21, 2024

First Monday 2/19

Monday, Feb 19 (Week 1)

 

CS First Monday!

Gates Common Room

3:30 pm: Prof. Ben Nye, Prof. Blake Jackson, and Prof. Cory Scott talking about Generative AI

 

Friday Feb 23, 2024

Fearless Friday 2/23

Friday, Feb 23 (Week 1)

 Gates Common Room

3:00 - 4:00 pm: Dr. Hortensia Soto, Professor, Colorado State University, President, Mathematical Association of America

Zoom

 B6W1-Fearless-Friday-Creating-Metaphors-for-Linear-Algebra-Concepts.png

Friday Mar 1, 2024

Fearless Friday 3/1

Friday, Mar 1 (Week 2)

 TSC 122

Prof. Varsha Koushik

Zoom

 B6W2-Fearless-Friday-Inclusive-Everyday-Learning-and-Living.png

Friday Mar 8, 2024

Fearless Friday 3/8

Friday, Mar 8 (Week 3)

TSC 122

Prof. Cory Scott

Zoom

B6W3-Fearless-Friday-Multiscale-Machine-Learning-and-Skeletal-Products.png

Block 7 Seminars

Friday Mar 29, 2024

Fearless Friday 3/29

Friday, Mar 29 (Week 1)

 

3:00 - 4:00 pm:  Dr. Mayla Boguslav, Postdoctoral Fellow, CSU Mathematics Department, Data Science Research Institute

Zoom

 

Friday April 5, 2024

Fearless Friday 4/5

Friday, April 5 (Week 2)

 

Dr. Andre van der Hoek, UC Irvine 

Zoom

 

Friday April 12, 2024

Fearless Friday 4/12

Friday, April 12 (Week 3)

 

Prof. Eddie Price

Zoom

 

Block 8 Seminars

April 26, 2024

Fearless Friday 4/26

Friday, April 26 (Week 1)

 

Dr. Silviana Amethyst, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (SIAM Student Chapter guest)

Zoom

April 26, 2024

Fearless Friday 5/3

Friday, May 3 (Week 2)

 

Pi Mu Epsilon Induction

Zoom

Report an issue - Last updated: 02/27/2024