Student Space

As part of the music major and minor, students are required to attend and/or perform in department-approved concerts: 8 per semester for majors, and 4 per semester for minors.

  • In order for a concert to be counted, students must complete a brief questionnaire addressing the performance. A music department faculty member will review and respond to all submissions.
  • Students will access the questionnaire through the MU216 Canvas course. All majors and minors will receive an invitation to this course and must accept to have access to the questionnaire and receive credit for concert attendance, regardless of whether or not they are enrolled in MU216 for academic credit.

About adjunct course MU216 (.25 unit of credit):

  • MU216 is required for new majors who declared from Fall 2021 Block 3 forward (4 semesters required).
  • MU216 is required for new minors who declared from Spring 2022 Block 6 forward (4 semesters required).
  • Registering for MU216 is optional for majors and minors who declared prior to those dates, but those majors and minors still must complete concert attendance questionnaires via Canvas in order to fulfill major/minor requirements.

The goal of the concert attendance requirement: to broaden their understanding of the rewards and challenges of the concert world and to gain a deeper understanding of performance practices and literature.

The list of department sponsored concerts appears at the bottom of this page and in the MU216 Canvas course.

  • If a student wishes to select a concert not on the list, they must confirm this choice with their advisor.
  • Students may count a Packard Hall concert in which they've performed (such as "Music at Midday") as a concert.

show all / hide all

These blockly meetings will be held on the third Friday of each block at 2pm and will be hosted by a rotating mix of department faculty. This will be an opportunity to discuss the music we've been encountering as well as learn more about what both faculty and students have been working on with regards to creativity and research. Majors are required to attend at least 3 of these TFS meetings per semester, and minors are always very welcome to participate.

SPRING 2022 SCHEDULE

Block 5: February 4 @ 2 pm in Packard 9 (second Friday for this block) - Conversation and Songwriting Workshop with CC Alum Steph Shaw

Block 6: Thursday, March 10 @ 3 pm in Packard Hall - Senior Capstone Presentations

Block 7: April 15 @ 2 pm in Packard 9 - Conversation and Songwriting Workshop with Special Musical Guest (TBA)

Block 8: May 13 at 2 pm - Outdoor Ice Cream Social with Tiny Tomboy

show all / hide all

2021-22 Concerts

Packard Hall during the 2021-22 academic year. This list will be continually updated, so check back regularly!

Chamber Orchestra of the Springs

A Celebration of Beethoven
Sunday, January 23 @ 2:30 pm 
First United Methodist Church
420 N. Nevada Avenue
Voices of the African Diaspora
Saturday, February 19 @ 3 pm
First Christian Church
16 E Platte Avenue
Program includes new song cycle of rare and special Ladino songs by CC Prof. Ofer Ben-Amots, sung with depth and beauty by visiting soprano Christina Martos.
Saturday, March 5 @ 7 pm 
Broadmoor Community Church
315 Lake Avenue
Sunday, March 6 @ 2:30 pm
First Christian Church
16 East Platte Avenue
Affairs of the Heart
Saturday, April 9 @ 7 pm 
Broadmoor Community Church
315 Lake Avenue
Sunday, April 10 @ 2:30 pm
First Christian Church
16 East Platte Avenue

 

Colorado Springs Philharmonic

Beethoven Piano Concertos 1, 2, 4
Saturday, January 29 @ 7:30 pm 
Sunday, January 30 @ 2:30 pm
ENT Center for the Arts
5225 N Nevada Avenue
Philharmonic Pops Spectacular
Friday, February 11 @ 7:30 pm 
Saturday, February 12 @ 7:30 pm
Pikes Peak Center for the Performing Arts
190 South Cascade Avenue
Schumann's "Spring"
Saturday, February 26 @ 7:30 pm 
Sunday, February 27 @ 2:30 pm
Pikes Peak Center for the Performing Arts
190 South Cascade Avenue
Beethoven Piano Concertos 3, 5
Saturday, March 12 @ 7:30 pm 
Sunday, March 13 @ 2:30 pm
ENT Center for the Arts
5225 N Nevada Avenue
Ray Charles: Motown and Beyond Starring Ellis Hall
Friday, March 18 @ 7:30 pm 
Saturday, March 19 @ 7:30 pm
Pikes Peak Center for the Performing Arts
190 South Cascade Avenue
Paganini and Cinderella
Saturday, April 2 @ 7:30 pm 
Sunday, April 3 @ 2:30 pm
Pikes Peak Center for the Performing Arts
190 South Cascade Avenue
Raiders of the Lost Ark Live Cinema Event
Friday, April 15 @ 7:30 pm 
Saturday, April 16 @ 7:30 pm
Pikes Peak Center for the Performing Arts
190 South Cascade Avenue
Mendelssohn's "Italian"
Saturday, April 23 @ 7:30 pm 
Sunday, April 24 @ 2:30 pm
Pikes Peak Center for the Performing Arts
190 South Cascade Avenue
Aretha: Queen of Soul
Friday, May 13 @ 7:30 pm 
Saturday, May 14 @ 7:30 pm
Pikes Peak Center for the Performing Arts
190 South Cascade Avenue
Appalachian Spring
Saturday, May 21 @ 7:30 pm 
Sunday, May 22 @ 2:30 pm
Pikes Peak Center for the Performing Arts
190 South Cascade Avenue

show all / hide all

Report an issue - Last updated: 02/23/2022