Page Settings

  • Show menu: true
  • Use horizontal menu: false
  • Show sidebar: right
  • Skip to main content

    O'Connor Lecture

    The Annual Daniel Patrick O'Connor Memorial Lecture exists to promote the principles of scholarship, research, and volunteerism in the service for social justice. The Daniel Patrick O'Connor Memorial Lectureship Endowed Fund is made possible through generous contributions from Margaret O'Connor, Michael and Kathie O'Connor, and their friends.

    2019-20 O'Connor Lecture

    Clemente Cover ImageRosa Clemente

    Dare to Struggle, Dare to Win

    Thursday, September 5th, 2019 at 7:00pm

    Richard F. Celeste Theater
    Edith Kinney Gaylord Cornerstone Arts Center
    825 N. Cascade Ave.

    The campaign and presidency of Donald Trump has ushered in a new white supremacist era, manifesting white supremacist rhetoric, policies, and violence. What lessons from the past can we employ? What does resistance look like? How can we envision and create a political, economic, and social justice movement rooted in resistance? 

    Rosa Alicia Clemente is an organizer, political commentator, and independent journalist. An Afro-Puerto Rican born and raised in the Bronx, N.Y., she has dedicated her life to organizing, scholarship, and activism. Clemente is one of her generation’s leading scholars on the issues of Afro-Latinx identity. She is the president and founder of Know Thy Self Productions, which has produced seven major community activism tours and consults on issues such as hip-hop feminism, media justice, voter engagement among youth of color, third-party politics, United States political prisoners, and the right of Puerto Rico to become an independent nation free of United States colonial domination. She is a frequent guest on television, radio, and online media, as her opinions on critical current events are widely sought after. Her groundbreaking article, “Who is Black?” published in 2001, was the catalyst for many discussions regarding Black political and cultural identity in the Latinx community. She is creator of PR (Puerto Rico) On The Map, an independent, unapologetic, Afro-Latinx centered media collective founded in the aftermath of Hurricane Maria. She is currently completing her Ph.D. at the W.E.B. DuBois Center at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Clemente was the first-ever Afro-Latina women to run for vice-president of the United States in 2008 on the Green Party ticket. She and her running mate, Cynthia McKinney, were to this date the only women of color ticket in American history.

    For more information on Rosa Clemente please visit: 

    Past O'Connor Lecturers

    2019 -- Forrest Stuart
    2018 -- Deyanira Aldana
    2017 -- Matthew Desmond
    2016 -- Jay MacLeod
    2015 -- Gary Snyder
    2013 -- Roberto Gonzales
    2012 -- Josh Fox
    2011 -- Reza Aslan
    2010 -- Jessica Jackley
    2009 -- Alan Weisman
    2008 -- Naomi Klein
    2007 -- Bill McKibben
    2006 -- Jim Wallis
    2005 -- Thomas Frank
    2004 -- Amy Goodman
    2003 -- Nancy Folbre
    2002 -- Nancy Fraser
    2001 -- Kevin Danaher
    2000 -- Jay MacLeod
    1999 -- Randall Kennedy
    1998 -- Jody Kretzmann
    1997 -- William Julius Wilson
    1996 -- Gary Snyder
    1994 -- Vandana Shiva
    1993 -- Richard Moore
    1992 -- Robert Bullard