Skip to main content area Skip to institutional navigation Skip to sub-navigation

AKD Honor Society

Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD) International Sociology Honor Society was founded in 1920 by USC sociologist Dr. Emory S. Bogardus. The Society is intended to stimulate sociological scholarship and to promote the scientific study of society. The AKD Chapter at Colorado College is headed by Gail Murphy-Geiss, Assistant Professor of Sociology. AKD at CC inducted its first members in 2005 and will continue to invite students who meet the following criteria:

  • Be an officially declared sociology major or demonstrate a serious interest in sociology within an official program of the host institution.
  • Be at least a junior (third year) by standards of the host institution.
  • Have accumulated the equivalent of an overall GPA of 3.0 and rank in the top 35% of their class in general scholarship.
  • Have maintained the equivalent of a 3.0 GPA in sociology courses taken at the host institution prior to initiation.
  • Have completed at least four regular courses in sociology prior to initiation (exclusive of extension or courses graded pass/fail).

AKD Paper Contest: Call for Papers

AKD 2015-2016 Calendar of Events and Deadlines 


2015 AKD Inductees

Merisa Muharemovic '15
Morgan Wack '15
McKenna Asakawa '16
Alina Drufovka '16
Celia Palmer '16
Nicole Hansen'16
Jane Finocharo '16
Anne Malecek '16
Casey Schuller '16
Vanessa Voller '16

2014 AKD Inductees

Rebecca Celli '15
Helen Feldman '15
Mindy Huang '15
Evalyn Grant '15
Rachel Maremont '15
Louisa Rich '15
Jordan Savold '15
Martha White '15
Sarah Freeman '14
Anna Kay '15
Antonina Pavlenko '15
Rebecca Willey '15

2013 AKD Inductees

Eva Grant '13
Gabrielle Kaminsky '13


2012 AKD Inductees

Marlana Wallace '13
Anu Atre '13
Caroline Nicholson '13
Kathleen Callahan '13
Maria (Ale) Chavez-Contreras '14
Lily Gil '14
Madison Sink '14
Aubrey Hasvold '14
Olivia Coble '14

2011 AKD Inductees

Sara Bodner
Angela Komar
Anna Fuchs
Hannah Wear
Elizabeth Michaels '13
April Hearne '13
Nicole Kaufman
Alison Suzukamo

2010 AKD Inductees

Sarah Wool
Nicole Santilli
Hannah Sohl
Rebecca Spiegel
Eliza Wicks-Arshack
Sophia Herscu
Katherine Rogers
Emily Moore
Madeline Frost
Kathleen Hallgren
Rebecca Beren
Emily Crouter

2009 AKD Inductees2009 AKD Inductees

Alyssa Aldaz '11
Ariella Epel '10
Tristan Dickison '11
Christina Holmes '11
Marlia Keeley '11
Gioia Garden '11
Nate Kerr '10
Britt Landis '11
Jordan Maze '11
Ellen Palazzo '11
Julia Sick '11
Ellie Smith '11
Lizzy Stephan '11

2008 AKD Inductees2008 AKD Inductees

Kelsey Pullar '09
Berenice Torres '10
Zoe Wick '10
Duncan Forbes '08
Ben Perdue '10
Mike Freeman '10
Lauren Jenkins '10
Katie Kantor '10
Anaïs Gude '10
Christina Yong '10
JJ Osterweil '09
Tucker Dunn '10
Emily Schneider '09

2007 AKD Inductees2007 AKD Inductees

Hunter Swain '09
Calen Hall '09
Elsa Frey '08
Lauren Hughes '09
Alice Gallmeyer '08
Sarah Diefendorf '09
Katelyn Bayne '08
Allyson Proske '08
Ashley Young '09
Sophie Kauffman '09
Lauren Abrams '08
Tabitha Hrynick '09
Caroline Hodge '09
Brittany Linton '09
Genai Odhner '09
Anna Wool '08

2006 AKD Inductees2006 AKD Inductees

Lauren Bogard '07
Ana Lara Roca '07
Kathleen Denny '07
Jessica Gingold '08
Amy Reedy '08
Jocelyn Corbett '08
Drew Gallaugher '08
Megan Berry '08
Drew Foster '08
Maya Zarchan '08