Skip to main content area Skip to sub-navigation
Skip to main content

How the IRB is Staffed

Federal regulations dictate that Institutional Review Boards shall be composed of at least five members, at least one of whom must not be affiliated with the institution.

At Colorado College, The Director of Assessment and Program Review chairs the IRB.  The Faculty Executive Committee appoints at least two additional faculty members from those faculty who supervise empirical research involving human participants.

The Chair of the IRB, in consultation with the Chair of the Governance sub-committee of the Faculty Executive Committee identifies a knowledgeable person from outside the College to sit on the IRB. In addition, at least one Colorado College staff member (appointed by Staff Council) sits on the IRB.

The members of the 2019-2020 IRB are:

Amanda Udis-Kessler, Chair
Director, Assessment and Program Review

John Horner

Laurie Mozingo
Human Resources Benefits Manager

Jason Weaver


Katherine Silz Carson
Economics and Geosciences, United States Air Force Academy