Honors Convocation Shines a Light on Outstanding Achievements

“Gathering, we lift up some of the many ways we have excelled as a community, knowing that these accomplishments are only a few of the many stories we could tell today…” — Kate Holbrook, Chaplain of the College, Invocation for Honors Convocation 2023

So began Honors Convocation for the 149th academic year at Colorado College. This ceremony, an annual academic tradition, recognizes outstanding students across all departments and in all aspects of campus life.

This year's event, held Tuesday, May 16, at Shove Memorial Chapel, honored students, faculty, and staff with departmental awards, all-college awards, faculty teaching and professorships, and awards from the CC Student Government Association, and honored alumni for their impact.

Among the all-college awards presented were the Outstanding Student Leader Award, presented to Olivia Gardiner Coutre ’23; the Emerging Student Leader Award, presented to Jessica Duran ’25 and Vicente Taijeron ’24; the Blue Key Award, presented to Professor Gretchen Wardell; and the Bill Hochman Prize, presented to Alexandra (Sasha) Akinchina ’25.

The Colorado College Student Government Association presented a series of awards, with Madison Dillon ’23 receiving the CCSGA Involved Student of the Year Award; Susanna Mirick ’23, Cecelia Russell ’24, Caroline Sandberg ’25, and Ethan Stewart ’25 receiving the Involved Student Organization of the Year Award on behalf of the Sunrise Movement; Aju Fenn receiving the Bob Pizzi Outstanding Advisor of the Year Memorial Award, and Minho Kim receiving the Lloyd E. Worner Teacher of the Year Award.

Cutler Publications introduced a new award, the Hank Bedingfield Award, for a junior or senior that has served on the Cutler Board. It will be awarded for their commitment to and talent for student journalism, in addition to their contributions to the people and community of Cutler. This year, it was given in memoriam to the award’s namesake, Henry “Hank” Bedingfield ’22, whose parents received a standing ovation in accepting the honor.

In another addition to this year’s ceremony, President Richardson presented the first Just World Awards. These new Colorado College president’s awards recognize alumni, students, staff, faculty, and retirees who demonstrate their dedication to principles that create a more just and equitable world. Chloe Kathryn Brooks-Kistler ’23 received the Adrienne Lanier Seward Bold and Courageous Actions Award. Professor Howard Drossman received the Val Veirs Environmental Justice Award. The Ken Salazar ’77 Stewardship Award was given to Abby K. Maxman ’88. The Margaret Liu Health Justice Award was given to Delaney Grant Kenyon ’23. And Avivah Polmer ’85 received the Mike Edmonds Igniting Students’ Potential Award.

The ceremony closed with the words of Chaplain Holbrook encouraging attendees and all those watching to “embrace your achievements with humility and welcome your disappointments with gentleness, honoring your amazing growth.”

A complete description of the 2023 Honors Convocation awards and recipients is available online.

A recording of the event is also available to watch online.

Report an issue - Last updated: 05/18/2023