Iota Iota Iota (Triota)

Iota Iota Iota (Triota) is a National Women’s Studies Honor Society with over 50 chapters nationwide with “Iota” representing three goddesses Innana (a Mesopotamian goddess associated with love, beauty, sex, war, justice, and political power), Ishtar (a Mesopotamian goddess associated with love and war), and Isis (an Egyptian goddess known as the goddess of the moon and associated with life and magic, the protection of women and children, and healer of the sick). Triota strives to maintain the feminist values and encourage diversity, egalitarianism, and a supportive academic environment for all students. Triota also encourages volunteerism, advocacy, and activism.

After attending a Southwest Institute for Research on Women meeting in 2011, Dr. Gail Murphy-Geiss had the idea to create the Feminist & Gender Studies Student Advisory Council (SAC) and provide students with myriad leadersihp opportunities. Dr. Heidi R. Lewis has been serving as the group's advisor since, spearheading the transition to an official chapter (Delta Mu) of Triota in 2016. Delta Mu:

  • plans and implements programs including, but not limited to, film screenings, sessions and panels, workshops, and guest speakers;
  • represents the program and assists with student recruitment during on and off-campus events, such as New Student Orientation, Homecoming Weekend, and the Choose Your Major Fair, for example;
  • develops and maintains networks with other feminist organizations, such as the American Association of University Women and other Triota chapters;
  • and attends the National Women’s Studies Association annual meeting.

2022-2023 Triota Officers

Misbah-Sarah-Lakhani.jpegAs President, Misbah Sarah Lakhani ('24), they/them, is the spokesperson for the organization. It shall be the duty of the President to preside over meetings of the organization. The President will represent Triota at college functions and serve as the organization's liaison to the Feminist & Gender Studies faculty. The President shall maintain contact with student organizations, college offices, and community members on matters involving Triota. The President shall coordinate the publicity efforts of the organization. In collaboration with members of the Executive Committee, the President shall provide the general membership and the Faculty Advisor with a brief written annual summary report of activity during the preceding year and for proposals for the ensuing year.

FGS-No-Pic.jpgAs Vice President, Latra Demaci ('24), she/her(s), shall serve in the capacity of the President during the absence of the President. The Vice President shall be responsible for recruitment and selection of new members and for organizing orientation for new members.






lucia-daranyi.jpgAs Administrator, Lucia Daranyi  ('24), she/her(s), manages the financial affairs of the organization, present the status of finances at organization meetings for approval and inclusion in the minutes of the organization, keep the minutes of the organizations meetings, present the same for approval and inclusion in the minutes of the organization, and be responsible for the correspondence, both incoming and outgoing, of the organization.




show all / hide all

Former Triota Officers and SAC Representatives

President Misbah Lakhani, Major ('24) | Vice President Pardes Lyons-Warren, Major (’23) | Administrator Mar Wilson, Major (’23)
President Daya Stanley, Major (’22) | Vice President Sakina Bhatti, Major (’22) | Administrator Eileen Huang, Major (’22)
President Zivia Berkowitz, Major (’21) | Vice President Avia Hailey, Major (’22) | Administrator Miles Marshall, Major (’21)
President Judy Fisher, Major (’20) | Vice President Mekael Daniel, Major (’20) | Administrator Zivia Berkowitz, Major (’21)
President Niyat Ogbazghi (Fall ’18), Major (’19) | President (Fall ’18) and Vice President (Spring ’19) Eden Lumerman, Major (’19) | Vice President (Spring ’19) and Administrator (Fall ’18) Judy Fisher (’20) | Administrator Hailey Corkery (Spring ’19), Major (’20)
2017-2018 (Inaugural Triota Officers)
President Baheya Malaty, Major (’18) | Vice President Mae Eskenazi, Major (’19) | Administrator (Fall ’17) Mari Young, Minor (’18) | Administrator (Spring ’18) Christie Ma, Major (’18)

Jazlyn Andrews, Major (’17) | Ivy Wappler, Major (’18) | Salem Tewelde (Spring ’17), Major (’18) | Meredith Bower (Fall ’16), Minor (’18)

Kadesha Caradine, Major (’16) | Naya Herman, Major (’16) | Kaimara Herron, Minor (’16)

Kadesha Caradine, Major (’16) | Anna Naden, Major (’15) | Savannah Johnson, Minor (’15)

Alexis Sommerfield, Minor (’15) | Rosie Nelson, Major (’14) | Melissa L. Barnes, Major (’15)

Theresa Gattuso, Major (’15) | Margaret Deadrick, Major (’14) | Mackenzie Mulligan-Buckmiller (Fall ’12), Minor (’15) | Carmen Rodi (Spring ’13), Minor (’13)

2011-2012 (Inaugural SAC Representatives)
Andi Ruybál, Major (’12) | Natalie Dupille, Major (’13) | Toni Pizza, Minor (’12)

Report an issue - Last updated: 06/01/2023