Other Funding Opportunities

Tashjian Crecelius Family Prize for Women in Science

The Tashjian-Crecelius Family Prize for Women in Science was established in 2002 by Daniel N. Crecelius (Class of 1959) and his wife, Anahid Tashjian Crecelius in honor of Anahid's mother Elize Tashjian and her deep commitment to women's educational opportunities and achievement.

The prize will be awarded to a woman student who is a major in one of the natural sciences, and who is an international or minority student. Preference will be given to Armenian or Armenian-American women. An award of up to $600 will be presented based on the best proposal in one of the following areas:

  • To support a meaningful scientific research project that will further the understanding of the natural sciences.
  • To support travel expenses to attend a national or regional professional meeting, whether or not the student is presenting a research project or original research.

How to apply:

Students should complete the Tashjian Crecelius Prize application on Summit. To be eligible for review, the application must be complete and submitted by 5 pm on March 27, 2022. We recommend that students prepare their proposal with text processing software (e.g. MS Word, Pages, etc.) and then cut and paste each section into the form in Summit. We strongly encourage students to get help from their faculty sponsor in writing the proposal. A complete application consists of the proposal, a letter of recommendation from the faculty member with whom the applicant plans to work, and a copy of the applicant's transcripts. Student applicants may indicate in Summit who the faculty reference is and request the letter of recommendation through the Summit application. Students should however contact the faculty member before requesting the reference via Summit.

The successful applicant will also be expected to write a note of thanks to the Tashjian-Crecelius family, who are very interested in how students benefit from their bequest.

Past prize recipients:

2019 Saria Sato Bajracharya, Cecelia Mweka

2018 Vivian Nguyen, Nisha Venkateswaran

2017 Tianran Zhang, Shiyen Sinclair

2016 Shiyen Sinclair, Tianran Zhang

2015 Madeleine Garcia, Esra Siddeek

2014 Colleen Leong

2013 Christina Maruyama, Gabriela Rodriguez

2012 Jimin Kim

Report an issue - Last updated: 05/16/2022