Marshall Scholarship



The Marshall Scholarship Program was established in 1953 to honor U.S. Secretary of State George C. Marshall and express Britain's gratitude for economic assistance received through the Marshall Plan after World War II.

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a degree in the United Kingdom. Each year, 40 scholars are selected to spend two years in graduate school at a British University, with all expenses paid by the British government. Third-year extensions are granted by the Commission on a limited basis, for strong academic reasons, subject to the availability of funds.

As future leaders, with a lasting understanding of British society, Marshall Scholars strengthen the enduring relationship between the British and American peoples, their governments and their institutions. Marshall Scholars are talented, independent and wide-ranging, and their time as Scholars enhances their intellectual and personal growth. Their direct engagement with Britain through its best academic programs contributes to their ultimate personal success.

Former Marshall Scholars include Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer and New York Times Foreign Affairs columnist Thomas Friedman


The total value of a Marshall Scholarship varies according to the circumstances (place of residence, selected university, etc.) of each Scholar but the figure tends on average to be about £23,000 a year. This comprises:

-A personal allowance to cover residence and cost of living expenses at the rate of £948 per month (£ 1,173 for Scholars at Central London institutions)

-fares to and from the United States

-claimable allowances totaling approximately £3,300

-an arrival allowance

Application Deadline

Submitted by institution, but no nomination required.
National deadline: Early October


Lisa Schwartz
Student Opportunities Manager
Report an issue - Last updated: 08/17/2022