Celebrating the Class of 2021

Colorado College's biggest annual celebration is here! We are thrilled to honor our graduates in-person as they cross the stage and receive their diplomas.

Photos from Commencement

Honorary Degree Recipients

Jill Tiefenthaler P '21, P '24
Commencement Speaker


Jill Tiefenthaler was president of Colorado College for nine years; she oversaw significant campus improvements, executed the college’s ambitious fundraising campaign, orchestrated an alliance to make the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center part of the college, led efforts to achieve carbon neutrality, and guided the campus in creating an Antiracism Implementation Plan. She is now CEO of the National Geographic Society, overseeing the development and implementation of the society’s mission-driven work and programmatic agenda.

Gloria Ladson-Billings


Gloria Ladson Billings is the former Kellner Family Distinguished Chair of Urban Education and professor emerita at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, the American Educational Research Association, and the Hagler Institute of Texas A&M University.

Katherine Haughey Loo


Katherine Haughey Loo has been an active member of the Colorado Springs community for more than 50 years, beginning her career as a volunteer for many social service organizations. She served as president of the Headstart Advisory Board and of the Junior League and as a director of the International Association of Junior Leagues. Her career in politics includes six years as city councilwoman and serving on the Colorado Commission on Higher Education. She also co-chaired a capital campaign to renovate and expand the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center. Loo has received numerous awards, the most recent being the outstanding community citizen from El Pomar Foundation.

Margaret Elise Myers ’72


Margaret Elise Myers ’72 is the director of the Information Technology and Systems Division at the Institute for Defense Analyses. She was appointed to the Senior Executive Service in 1992 and served on active duty in the U. S. Army, retiring from the Army Reserve in 2005 at the rank of colonel. She received the U.S. Department of Defense Distinguished Civilian Service Award and three Presidential Rank Awards. She has a B.A. in mathematics from Colorado College and an M.S. in operations research from American University, and was the first female Ph. D. recipient from the George Mason University engineering school.

Tink Tinker, Ph.D. (wazhazhe / Osage Nation)


Tink Tinker, Ph. D. (wazhazhe / Osage Nation) is the Clifford Baldridge Emeritus Professor of American Indian Cultures and Religious Traditions at Iliff School of Theology. During his 33 years at Iliff, Tinker brought a distinctly American Indian perspective to a predominantly white, Euro-Christian school, as he continues to do in lectures across the continent. His publications include: “American Indian Liberation: A Theology of Sovereignty” (Orbis, 2008); “Spirit and Resistance: American Indian Liberation and Political Theology” (Fortress, 2004); and nearly 100 journal articles and chapters for edited volumes.

Scott Yoo


Scott Yoo is the chief conductor and artistic director of the Mexico City Philharmonic and the music director of Festival Mozaic. He is also the host and executive producer of the PBS series “Now Hear This” on “Great Performances.” He has been the conductor of the Colorado College Summer Music Festival since 2002, and the founder of the Medellín Festicámara, a chamber music program that brings together world-class artists with underprivileged young musicians.

View Baccalaureate Blessings

Report an issue - Last updated: 06/23/2022