Antiracism Commitment Committee

Committee Charge:

The Antiracism Commitment Committee (ACC) is CC’s community accountability body that evaluates the implementation and impact of CC’s antiracism plan and guides the revision and development of new goals as the plan evolves and remains relevant.

Committee Goals:

  1. To hold the CC community accountable in making continuous progress on antiracism goals.
  2. To use appropriate assessment tools to track progress, identify gaps and resistance, and make recommendations for new antiracism work goals.
  3. To ensure that offices, departments, and programs improve coordination of antiracism work efforts.
  4. To provide an annual report to the CC community and the Board of Trustees about the progress of antiracism goals.

Committee Leadership:

Peony Fhagen, Senior Associate Dean of Equity, Inclusion, and Faculty Development

Rosalie Rodriguez, Senior Associate Dean of Students for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion and Director of the Butler Center

Ersaleen Hope, Assistant Vice President of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion for Staff and Administrative Operations

Membership for Staff & Faculty (by Division):

Each division must have at least one representative on the committee, but divisions can have up to three representatives. Each division decides how they will select and appoint representatives to the committee. Committee members must serve on the committee for at least two years, but no longer than 4 years. The DEI leadership team, who are co-chairs for the committee, will contact division leaders for membership appointments. Members must work with their division leaders about their appointments, not the committee co-chairs.


Advancement — Ty Nagamatsu

Academic — Luis Garcia Puente and Amanda Udis-Kessler

Athletics — Jeff Conarroe

Communications — Felix Sanchez

Enrollment Management — Pedro Ramirez

Finance & Administration — Amber Brannigan

Fine Arts Center — Idris Goodwin

Information Technology — Katharina Groves

Student Life — Rochelle Dickey

DEAB Co-Chairs — Anneke Bruwer and Neena Grover

FEC Member — Nadia Guessous

Staff Council — Jennifer Golightly

Membership for Students

The SGA VP of Inclusion will decide on a selection process for appointing three student affinity group members to the committee. The CCSGA President will decide on a selection process for appointing two members to the committee. The DEI leadership team, who are co-chairs of the committee, will contact the SGA VP of Inclusion and CCSGA President for membership appointments.

SGA VP Inclusion and three additional CCSGA members — Misbah Lakhani, Atquetzali Quiroz, and Surbhi Bhutani, and Jordan Fields

Members’ Roles and Responsibilities:

Antiracism Commitment and Accountability

  • Keep informed of the college’s activities and the wider issues that affect its work
  • Continue to expand awareness and knowledge of antiracism action in higher education
  • Create a unit responsibility statement that pertains to being responsible for the plan’s goals

Unit Representation

  • Come to meetings prepared share feedback from your office, department, and unit
  • Provide regular updates to unit about the committee’s work
  • Promote and build coalitions and collaborations across units to make progress on commitment and plan goals

Committee Meeting Engagement

  • Read the agenda and the materials thoroughly before the meeting
  • Express your opinions and perspectives
  • Be open to hear a variety of opinions and perspectives
  • Support the efforts of the committee co-chairs and carry out individual assignments
  • Maintain the confidentiality of committee activities
Report an issue - Last updated: 09/23/2022