Skip to main content area Skip to sub-navigation
Skip to main content

Who we are

The Office of Sustainability fosters communication, collaboration and coordination between stakeholders in the CC community. The Office of Sustainability consists of Ian Johnson, Colorado College's Sustainability Director, a full-time paraprofessional, and teams of student interns paired with dedicated student volunteers who work on independent projects and often are embedded in different offices in the Colorado College administration.


Hannah Rider '18 | Curriculum Development Intern


Andrej Blazhevski '18 | Website Development Intern

dannyrodriguezDanny Rodriguez '18 | Residential Life Intern

kelseymaxwellKelsey Maxwell '18 | Communications Intern


Cory Page '18 | Buildings and Grounds Intern


Rebecca Glazer '18 | Local Food and Community Engagement Intern


Wayan Buschman '20 | Swap Space Attendant

The Office of Sustainability works to:

  • Assess the college's sustainability progress through AASHE STARS annually.  STARS is a self-reporting program that rates higher education institution's sustainability status
  • Compile the annual State of Sustainability Report utilizing information from STARS for dissemination to campus stakeholders
  • Perform annual greenhouse gas inventories and compile the resulting reports
  • Support the College's goal to reach carbon neutrality by 2020
  • Coordinate the Eco-RA programs with resources and tools to localize sustainability efforts campus-wide.
  • Administer the EcoFund campus grant program for sustainability projects
  • Design and implement campus resource conservation campaigns related to energy, water, waste, and procurement practices
  • Develop curricular components that include sustainability by working with individual faculty in departments across campus and with administration
  • Continually assess campus operations, policies, and initiatives to improve the overall sustainability of the college amongst environmental, social, economic, and community-based efforts


Ian Johnson
Sustainability Director


Katy Dupree '16
Sustainability Paraprofessional


Jonah Seifer '16
 Paraprofessional for Research and Community Outreach