Getting a Driver's License
Driving an Automobile in Colorado
Students who want to drive in Colorado must have a valid Colorado license within 90 days of moving to Colorado (few exceptions). In the meantime, students can drive on an international permit or another state’s license.
- Students need to have either 1) a Social Security Number or 2) a Social Security denial letter (see the Office of International Programs for details)
- Make an appointment at one of the designated Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offices to obtain a license
- You may be required to take a written test or a driving (road) test – (country specific)
- Keep in mind that first-year students at Colorado College are not eligible to bring a car to campus.
Students must wait 10-15 days from the first day of classes of each term before attempting to get the Social Security denial letter (must be registered in SEVIS and allow time for CLAIMS to push the port of entry data to the Social Security Administration).
The following items are needed to apply for a Colorado Driver’s license:
- Form I-20 (F-1 students) or Form DS-2019 (J-1 students)
- I-94 number (electronic I-94 record can be accessed via: www.cbp.gov\I94).
- One other form of identification (such as your CC student ID card)
- If applicable - Social Security Number or a form titled “Certification of Non-Eligibility for Social Security Number” which states that you are not eligible for a Social Security Number (You may obtain a copy of this form at the Social Security Administration office)
- Proof of Colorado residency such as a copy of your apartment lease, bank statement from a Colorado bank, or electric utility bill showing your residence address
Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Colorado Springs - Map
2447 North Union Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
M-F, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Full service office: CO License, CO State ID, Driving Exam, Driving Test
To get a Colorado driver’s license, you will first have to pass a written exam and pay $14.00 (cash only) to obtain an instruction permit. Upon successful completion of the written exam, you will be able to schedule a driving exam (typically 1-3 weeks from completion of written exam – must bring your own car)…Driving exams must take place within 30 days of passing the written exam). After successful completion of the driving exam and submittal of a $50.50 license fee (cash only), you will be awarded a Colorado Drivers License. Note: Having an instruction permit allows you to practice driving before your scheduled driving exam. Practice driving must be conducted with someone at least 21 years of age who has a valid Colorado Drivers License. The total cost for obtaining a driver license is $64.50 ($14, Permit, $50.50; License).
The written test is not very difficult, but you will need to study! You may download the Colorado Driver Handbook for more information about Colorado driving requirements. Everything you will need to know for the written test is contained in the handbook.
Fees may be paid with cash, personal check or money order for the exact amount in any Driver's License Office. *Credit cards are ONLY accepted for internet renewal.
Please note: Colorado law prohibits a person from holding both a valid CO driver's license and a CO State identification card. You cannot be issued an identification card if you hold a valid driver's license.