Page Settings

  • Show menu: true
  • Use horizontal menu: true
  • Show sidebar: no
  • Skip to main content

    Community Engagement Recognition Night (CERN)

    CERN_RMFINear the end of each school year, the CCE hosts a community event to celebrate the various ways in which our campus engages in community-based work, democratically invests in shared futures, and develops our students into engaged citizens.

    At CERN, we honor those faculty, staff, students, and community partners who have gone above and beyond in contributing to the public good.  With over 150 attendees each year, this event serves to affirm and renew energy for a culture that supports community-based work.

    The awards below are accompanied by a cash award generously supported by the Class of 1981.

    Current Awards


    • CERNFacultyExemplary Achievement in Community-Engaged Teaching  Honors a faculty member who has integrated teaching and learning with community-based work in meaningful, impactful ways.

    2018-2019 Recipent: Carol Neel
    2017-2018 Recipients: Clay Haskell and Dylan Nelson
    2016-2017 Recipient: Christina Leza
    2015-2016 Recipient: Christina Rader
    2014-2015 Recipient: Jessie Dubreill

    • Exemplary Achievement in Community-Engaged Research – Honors a faculty member who has applied the knowledge of their discipline and their own expertise to the public good through community-engaged research.

    2018-2019 Recipient: Santiago Guerra
    2017-2018 Recipient: Gail Murphy-Geiss


    • Community-Engaged Staff Award – Honors a CC staff member who collaborates with communities beyond the campus, modeling to students an ethic of community engagement. (Preference given to staff that engage students in those collaborations.)

    2018-2019 Recipient: Summer Music Festival Staff
    2017-2018 Recipient: Heather Powell Browne


    • Outstanding Community Partner Award – Honors a community organization, association, or member who partners with CC in ways that meaningfully engage and develop members of our campus community.

    2018-2019 Recipient: Brian Kates
    2017-2018 Recipient: Rocky Mountain Field Institute
    2016-2017 Recipient: Lutheran Family Services
    2015-2016 Recipient: Mary Lynn Sheetz
    2014-2015 Recipient: Colorado Springs School District 11


    • CERNStudentsAdvocacy and Activism Award – Honors a student who has championed a social or environmental issue though advocacy, awareness-raising, and/or activism.

    2018-2019 Recipient: Jane Hatfield
    2017-2018 Recipient: Montana Bass

    • CBO Capacity Builder Award  Honors a student who has deeply committed to a community-based organization, meaningfully investing their skills and knowledge to advancing the mission of the organization.  Nominations for this award will be solicited from Community Partners.

    2018-2019 Recipient: Rachel Powers
    2017-2018 Recipient: Elena Perez

    • Community Collaborator Award – Honors a student who has engaged in meaningful relationship-building between communities on and off the campus, and in so doing best exemplifies commitment to communities of the Pikes Peak Region.

    2018-2019 Recipient: Max Kronstadt
    2017-2018 Recipient: Elam Boockvar-Klein

    • Campus Organizer – Honors a student who mobilizes diverse campus stakeholders toward addressing a community-based need and/or promoting an engaged campus culture.

    2018-2019 Recipients: Charlotte Schwebel and Elena Martinez-Vivot
    2017-2018 Recipient: Kyra Bergsund

    • Outstanding Student Initiative Award – Honors an excellent student-led collaboration that exemplifies and inspires thoughtful community engagement to other students.  This could be a student-led organization, event, project, campaign, or partnership.

    2018-2019 Recipient: Political Advocacy Coalition

    • Public Problem Solver – This award is presented to a student who is a change-maker in social and/or environmental realms, working to produce solutions to real-world social, civic, or environmental challenges of our world.

    2018-2019 Recipient: Carly Cribbs
    2017-2018 Recipient: Cole Simon

    • Anabel and Jerry McHugh Director’s Award  Established in 1996, The Anabel and Jerry McHugh Director’s Award is presented to a graduating senior who has built the capacity of and advocated for the CCE.

    2018-2019 Recipient: Bryn Morgan
    2017-2018 Recipient: Talia Worth
    2016-2017 Recipient: Emma Brachtenbach
    2015-2016 Recipient: Cassie Prouty
    2014-2015 Recipient: Rebecca Celli

    Past Awards

    Although we no longer present individuals with the following awards, we would like to recognize their past achievements:

    • Award for Outstanding Community Service – This award was presented to a graduating seniors who, through commitment to community service, best exemplified the ideals of a liberal arts and sciences education. Over the years at Colorado College, these students had been consistently dedicated to promoting an ethic of community engagement and involving others in understanding the civic and social challenges of our world.

    2016-2017 Recipient: Emma Kepes
    2015-2016 Recipient: Shane Lory
    2014-2015 Recipients: Skyler Trieu and Margaret Wolf

    • Engaged Citizen Award – This award was presented to a student who has actively engaged in public deliberation and decision-making in Colorado Springs or the Pikes Peak Region through governmental avenues or broader community initiatives.  In so doing, this student committed to and invigorated democratic efforts to shape shared futures.

    2017-2018 Recipient: Lily Weissgold

    • Exceptional Promise in Social Justice Award – This award honored a lower-division student who showed exemplary promise as a champion of social justice, integrating liberal arts scholarship with rigorous community-based work in ways that extended and transformed both in the process. Recipients of this award showed a deep and abiding commitment to societal change at the grassroots level, and served as exemplary models of activism and compassion, inspiring others to follow in their footsteps.

    2016-2017 Recipient: Sarah Kang
    2015-2016 Recipient: Reed Young
    2014-2015 Recipient: Sophie Javna

    • Outstanding Engagement with K-12 Youth – This award honored a student in any year, who had done outstanding work in a K-12 education setting. Recipients of this award showed an awareness and deep understanding of educational issues, and demonstrated a commitment to fostering the development and achievement of youth. This award recognized ongoing positive community impact in K-12 student learning and success.

    2016-2017 Recipient: Nan Elpers
    2015-2016 Recipient: Kiersten Kelly
    2014-2015 Recipient: Cassie Prouty

    • Student Leader Award – This award was presented to a student who demonstrated exceptional leadership skills in guiding some form of group-based student initiative.  This student not only served as an exemplar of thoughtful community engagement to other students, but shared their knowledge and skills to enable other students to follow in their footsteps. 

    2017-2018 Recipient: Ramah Aleryan

    • Sustained Commitment Award – The CCE Sustained Commitment Award was awarded in 2015-16 to honor students who had shown exceptional dedication and commitment to community-based work.  Engaging with the community through sustained, ongoing campaigns and partnerships often best meets community needs;  we celebrate the devotion required to address those needs.  This award was given to those who display not only a desire to make the world a better place, but the grit, perseverance, and hard-work that such efforts require.

    2015-16 Recipients: Dontené Bonnet, Michael Colwell, Kayla Fratt, Cassie Prouty, Eden VanDevanter and Talia Worth