Skip to main content area Skip to sub-navigation
Skip to main content

Blumenstein Internship

Caleb Cofsky, 2016 intern, with Mrs. Sarah Blumenstein at Silver Creek

Charlie Blumenstein Stewardship Assistant, a summer water and wildlife conservation internship

In the Summer of 2019, the Blumenstein internship will be at The Nature Conservancy's (TNC) Carpenter Ranch in Hayden, CO (near Steamboat, CO). This experience will offer opportunities for students to engage with visitors; work alongside ranch managers in maintaining the property, and gain a better understanding of how Carpenter Ranch supports researchers, Colorado water rights, and much more. Full details on how to apply and access the job description can be found in Handshake. All applications must be received through the TNC Careers site no later than March 15, 2019. Candidates are highly encouraged to submit applications prior to March 8, 2019, in order to schedule on-campus interviews March 11-13, 2019. Contact the Career Center for more information.

Charlie Blumenstein graduated from Colorado College in 1996 with a major in biology. He was passionate about the environment and conservation of water resources. Charlie credited his informal, out-of-classroom, extra-curricular, field experiences with his decision to become a hydrogeologist and to devote his professional life to the improvement of our water resources. After Charlie’s death in May 2003, his family and friends established a fund in his memory to recognize his passion and commitment to conservation and the outdoors through this internship.

From 2004 to 2017, the internship was located at The Nature Conservancy Silver Creek Preserve in Picabo, Idaho. Click on the reports of past interns to learn more about their experience:

Madeline Wilson


Caleb Cofsky

Joseph Friedland
river photo-crop

Molly Broom
Molly Broom '15

Caley Gallison
Caley Gallison

Ham Wallace
Ham Wallace

Collin Knauss
Collin Knauss

Dominique Lucio 2010
Meredith Stewart 2009
Conner Hunihan 2008
Avery Mackenzie 2007
Lonny Fritzler 2006
Kevin Weitemeir 2005
Rachael Record 2004