Skip to main content

3 Students Receive ACM-CIC Mellon Fellowships

Atiya Harvey ’18, Brittany Camacho ’18, Maja Orlowska ’19 Named as Fellows

Three Colorado College students, Atiya Harvey '18, Brittany Camacho '18, and Maja Orlowska '19, have been awarded ACM-CIC Mellon Graduate School Exploration fellowships.

As part of the fellowship, Harvey, a feminist and gender studies major from Washington, D.C., Camacho, a classics-history-politics major from Roselle Park, New Jersey, and Orlowska, a comparative literature and Romance languages major from Cedarburg, Wisconsin, will participate in a professional development conference this summer. The students also will receive structured mentoring in their junior year, a paid summer research internship next summer at one of the CIC universities, and a student research/professional development conference at the end of the internship summer.

The fellowship is a part of an $8.1 million grant from the Mellon Foundation awarded to the Associated Colleges of the Midwest (ACM) and the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) for the Undergraduate and Faculty Fellows Program for a Diverse Professoriate.

"It is great to partner with our ACM consortium colleagues to enrich the summer research opportunities for CC students," says Emily Chan, associate dean of academic programs and strategic initiatives. "In the fall of 2013 Colorado College received a grant from the Mellon Foundation to enhance our faculty/student collaborative research in the humanities and humanistic social science. This new fellowship will now bring off-campus options for our students, in addition to our own Summer Collaborative Research Program."

The ACM and CIC have embarked on a seven-year initiative to address barriers to faculty diversity in the humanities, humanistic social sciences, and arts, especially in the context of liberal arts colleges. The program aims to create new structures for collaboration between undergraduate and graduate programs at the 14 liberal arts colleges in the ACM and the 15 research universities in the CIC, which includes the members of the Big Ten Conference and the University of Chicago.

Report an issue - Last updated: 12/16/2020