Skip to main content area Skip to institutional navigation Skip to sub-navigation

About Us

Albert Seay

Albert Seay was Professor of Music at Colorado College beginning in 1953 and served as Chair of the Music Department from 1967 until his retirement in 1982. His students and colleagues knew him as a great teacher and scholar who was equally dedicated to both undergraduates and his own internationally acclaimed musicological research. Dr. Seay’s numerous contributions to the Seay collection include a variety of musicological resources, a large repertoire of piano four-hands and two-piano music, and a collection of unusual woodwind chamber music.

The dedication of the library in his memory took place in October of 1984.

The Collection

Our collection includes scores, books, printed music, reference materials and sound/video recordings in a variety of formats. These items are searchable in the TIGER Catalog. Additionally, we are a gateway to numerous digital music resources, including specific music databases and streamed audio/video databases which are available 24/7. Digital resources may be accessed from computers on and off campus. The campus music collection is divided between Seay Library and Tutt Library. Most musical works (scores and sound/video recordings) are located in the Seay Library; most books about music are housed in Tutt Library.

The Seay Library also manages two orchestral collections which are searchable in TIGER. Works in these collections are available under certain conditions for use by local orchestral organizations.

Contact Us

Circulation: (719) 389-6560
or by email
Reference: (719) 389-6126
or by email
Reserves: (719) 389-6560
or by email
Fax: (719) 389-6561