Skip to main content area Skip to sub-navigation
Skip to main content

Campus Calendar


Michael Oakeshott Association - Modernity and Its Discontents


Cossitt Hall
906 N. Cascade Ave. (Northwest of Worner Campus Center) (map)


The following sessions are free and open to the public:

8:45-10:15 a.m. Modernity and Plurality

The History of Political Philosophy in the 21st Century
Martyn Thompson, Tulane University

Usable Pasts: Contemporary Political Theory and the Three Legends of Modern Politics
Ken McIntyre, Sam Houston State University

Michael Oakeshott and Eric Voegelin: The Conversation and Consciousness
Steve McCarl, Retired from the University of Denver

10:30-12:00 p.m. Ideology and Rationalism

Oakeshott's Understanding of Ideology
David Corey, Baylor University

The Folly of Rationalist Politics: A Case-Study from Ireland
Kevin Williams, Dublin City University at Mater Dei Institute of Education

Between Ideology and Practice: Conceptions of Historical Time in the Thinking of Michael Oakeshott
Blake Ewing, Oxford University

2:00-4:00 p.m. Oakeshott and His Contemporaries

Michel Foucault and Michael Oakeshott: The Politics of the Virtuosity of Individuality
Jacob Segal, Kingsborough Community College of the City University of New York

Oakeshott: Thorougly Modern, and Conservative
Robert Westmoreland, University of Mississippi

Hegel and Oakeshott as Interpreters of Modernity: Hegel's 'buergeliche Gesellschaft' and the Origins of Oakeshott's Civil Association
Agostino Carrino, Naples University Federico II

4:15-5:45 p.m. Law and Political Legitimacy

Oakeshott and the Rule of Law: A Defense
Stephen Turner, University of South Florida

Modernity and Political Legitimacy in Oakeshott and Santayana
Noel O'Sullivan, University of Hull

     Dicussant: Gene Callahan

Michael Oakeshott Association - Modernity and Its Discontents
  • Open to Public: Yes
  • Admission Fee: Free
  • Sponsored By: The Political Science Department, the Colorado College Studies, the Office of the President, and the Office of the Dean of the College
  • Share this Event: