Skip to main content

President’s Leadership Awards

Colorado College has talented and dedicated faculty and staff whose work is essential to achieving the college mission of "providing the finest liberal arts education." The President's Leadership Awards recognize and celebrate colleagues who make an impact as strong leaders, innovative role models, and positive collaborators.

Nomination Criteria and Eligibility

Please nominate individuals or groups who exemplify CC's leadership philosophy and have made outstanding contributions to the college. Nominations can be made based on the cumulative impact of work over several years or just during the past 12-18 months.

Brian Young
Brian Young Community Service Award

This awardee demonstrates a continued pattern of voluntary service to the college and exceeding their job duties, as demonstrated by former Vice President for Information Technology Brian Young. The awardee must have been employed by the college for five years or more.

Do you know someone who has continuously given of themselves to the college above and beyond their assigned job duties — someone who embodies community service to students, or other members of the staff and faculty, or the college as a whole? Submit a nomination.

Victor Nelson-Cisneros
Victor Nelson-Cisneros Diversity and Inclusion Award

This awardee exemplifies the qualities of former Associate Dean of the College Victor Nelson-Cisneros in supporting diversity and inclusion on campus. See past winners. [examples of winning nominations for the Diversity and Inclusion Award]

Do you know someone who makes a point of including diverse perspectives in meetings, conversations, and projects? Someone who is inclusive in planning for the future? Do you have a colleague who intentionally brings all of the right people to the table for decision-making and ensures those voices represent the college's community? Submit a nomination.

Glenn Brooks
Glenn Brooks Innovation and Courage Award

This awardee displays the courage and innovative qualities of former Dean of the College/Dean of the Faculty Glenn Brooks, who was one of the founders of the Block Plan. See past winners. [examples of winning nominations for the Innovation and Courage Award]

Have you worked with a unit on campus whose members are creative and innovative in approaching their work? Do you work with a group that doesn't assume business as usual is the best practice? A group who consistently thinks outside of the box and pursues excellence every day? Submit a nomination.

Jane Cauvel
Jane Cauvel Cultivating Collaboration and Community-building Award

This awardee cultivates collaboration on campus and is a community-builder, as exemplified by Jane Cauvel, Professor of Philosophy Emeritus, and the college's first ombudsperson. See past winners. [examples of winning nominations for the Collaboration and Community-Building Award]

Do you know someone who embodies the spirit of community building? Someone who builds and sustains bridges across units or between the faculty and staff? Do you know a team who uses collaboration as a foundational tool in their interactions with other units across campus? Submit a nomination.

Selection Process, Deadlines, and Awards

Awards will be made annually (by appropriate committees) and announced at the college's Spring Conference in January.

Winners will be featured on the CC website and will receive $2,500.

The individuals who submit winning nominations will also be recognized.

2021-22 Awards Timeline

Deadline to submit nominations is November 19, 2021.

The 2022 winners will be announced in Block 5.

For questions about the awards program or the nomination process, please contact Lyrae Williams.

Report an issue - Last updated: 01/18/2022