Skip to main content area Skip to sub-navigation
Skip to main content

Joseph T. Gordon Prize

The Joseph T. Gordon Prize for Southwest Studies was established in 2002 by an anonymous donor for the purposes of recognizing and rewarding outstanding scholarship and creative expression which furthers understanding of this rich and diverse region.

Ann Hyde

2012 Recipient

Ann Hyde, Professor of History

Empires, Nations, & Families: A History of the North American West, 1800-1860,”
University of Nebraska Press.  2011

Previous Recipients


2009 Eric Perramond, Associate Professor of Southwest Studies and Environmental Sciences Political Ecologies of Cattle Ranching in Northern Mexico: Private Revolutions
2008 Leighton Peterson
Professor of Anthropology
Weaving Worlds: Made for PBS Documentary on Navajo Weaving
David Mason
Professor of English
Ludlow: A Verse Novel
2007 Victoria Levine
Professor of Music
Ethnomusicology of the Southwest
Music of the Choctaw
2006 Brian Linkhart
Professor of Biology
Longevity of Flammulated Owls in Colorado and Arizona
2005 Susan Scarberry-Garcia
Native Studies
Native American Studies
2004 Ruth Van Dyke
Professor of Archeology
Chacoan architecture, landscape and ideology


Claire Farrer
Professor Anthropology
Apache Ethnography
Ann Zwinger
Nature Writer
Southwestern Nature Writing and Natural History
2002 Doug Monroy
Professor of History
California History and Ethnic Studies