Skip to main content

Cajori Prizes


On the centenary of Cajori's birth, in 1959, Colorado College sponsored a public lecture in his honour and memory. This was given on 25th February 1959 by the distinguished Norwegian mathematician and historian of mathematics Oystein Ore. (It was on 'Pascal and the invention of probability theory', and didn't mention Cajori once.) The next year another Cajori lecture was delivered, on April 21st 1960, this time by one of Cajori's former students, Harold Davis of Northwestern University. Davis gave rather fuller attention to Cajori for the first part of his lecture, with several reminiscences. The local newspaper the Gazette Telegraph reported this occasion as "the annual Cajori lecture", but it has not been possible to trace any subsequent one; it seems that there was an annual Cajori lecture, but for only the two years 1959 and 1960.

In 1986, the Mathematics Department instituted a Cajori Prize as an award, usually given annually, for outstanding achievement in mathematics. A plaque hanging in the mathematics lounge records the names of those earning this distinction. Once computer science grew to the point where it was drawing a substantial number of students, the Cajori Prize was expanded to include outstanding achievement in computer science as well.

1986 Shane Hubler 2005 Rahbar Virk
1987 John Buchholz 2006 Courtney Gibbons & Yulan Qing
1988 Nara Thacher 2007 (not awarded)
1990 Christopher Pounds 2008 Jessica Coyle & Tra Ho
1992 Laura Hegerle 2009 Molly Moran
1993 Lewis Biscamp 2010 Sarh Wolfe & Lung Li
1994 Evan Moran and David Carlson 2011 Lauren Hinkle
1995 Stephen Talley 2012 Nicholas Pascucci & Evan Ranken
1997 Barry Balof 2013 Cory Scott
1998 Carlynn Garrett 2014 Denali Molitor
2000 Margaret Beck 2015 Gautam Webb
2001 Adam Pringle 2016 Melissa Jay
2003 Yuichiro Yasutomo and Josh King 2017 Blake Jackson
2004 Stephen Limburg

On March 1st 1999 (the day after the 140th anniversary of his birth) the Mathematics Department laid on a 140th birthday tea for Florian Cajori, at which Fulbright Scholar and Visiting Professor of Mathematics John Fauvel (Open University, UK) gave an address entitled 'Florian Cajori and the Golden Age of Colorado College'.

Back to the Time Line

Report an issue - Last updated: 02/26/2021