Skip to main content area Skip to sub-navigation
Skip to main content

Shannon McGee Prize

The Shannon McGee Prize in Feminist and Gender Studies is awarded to Colorado College juniors or seniors who have demonstrated a real and abiding interest in Feminist and Gender Studies. The award will be presented in recognition of the student's active engagement, activism or leadership, regardless of major or minor. The Shannon McGee Prize is available to juniors and seniors.

The award honors the memory of Shannon D. McGee, class of 1989, who was a sociology major and women's studies minor. She won a Watson Fellowship for the summer of 1990 to study Islamic women in Egypt. While taking a break to travel to Jordan, Shannon died in a freak fall as she was climbing behind the “monastery” ruins at Petra.

"Shannon embodied the intellectual and political abilities and enthusiasm that make great students and even greater human beings."

-Esther Redmount, Professor of Economics

The award may be based upon, but not limited to the student's political or artistic endeavors on or off campus, research or project development, or participation in conferences and the like, where the purpose was to enhance the understanding of or commitment to women's issues and/or gender issues. Such purpose is reflective of Shannon's adventurous and inquisitive nature and her commitment to keeping women's issues alive and vibrant.

Past Winners

2020: Ramah Aleryan and Judy Lynne Fisher
2019: Judy Lynne Fisher
2018: Baheya Malaty
2017: Jazlyn Andrews
2016: Kierlanya "Naya" Herman
2015: Melissa L. Barnes and Anna Naden
2014: Rosie Nelson
2013: Natalie K. Dupille
2012: Andrea Ruybal
2011: Dorothy Haruyama and Adison T. Petti
2010: Beth Kancilia
2009: Nicki Dunnavant
2008: Lindsay Scallan
2007: Sheldon Kerr
2006: Jocelyn Hallstein
2004: Jennie McDonald
2003: Eliza Vandenbroeck Fernie
2002: Raegan Leann Truax
2001: Eleanor Hunt Collinson

Please contact us, if you have questions and/or concerns about the prize.