Skip to main content area Skip to sub-navigation
Skip to main content

Faculty

 


George ButteGeorge Butte

Professor

British Novel: 18th & 19th Century, Film Studies: Hitchcock & Comedy, Narrative Theory

Full Profile
Armstrong 251
(719) 389-6508

gbutte@coloradocollege.edu

 

 


Regula Meyer EvittRegula Evitt

 On Sabbatical 2018-2019

 Associate Professor

Medieval Literature & Culture; History of the English Language; Marie de France, Dante, Chaucer, Shakespeare

 Full Profile 

Armstrong 236
(719) 389-6706

rmevitt@coloradocollege.edu

 

 


Claire Oberon GarciaClaire Garcia

Professor

African American Literature, Late 19th/Early 20th Century British and American Literature, Black Atlantic Literature.

Full Profile
Armstrong 254
(719) 389-6510

cgarcia@coloradocollege.edu

 

 


Sylvan GoldbergGoldberg

Assistant Professor

Full Profile
Armstrong 241
(719) 389-6503

sgoldberg@coloradocollege.edu

 

 


Steven HaywardHayward

Associate Professor and Chair

Creative Writing (fiction), Shakespeare, Canadian literature

Full Profile
Personal Website
Armstrong 244 
(719) 389-6604

shayward@coloradocollege.edu

 


Jane Hilberryhilberry

Nancy Bryson Schlosser and C. William Schlosser Professor in the Arts

Creative Writing: Poetry, Shakespeare, Creativity & Leadership, Contemporary Poetry

Full Profile
Armstrong 344
(719) 389-6501

jhilberry@coloradocollege.edu 

 

 


Lisa B. Hugheshughes

Adjunct Associate Professor of Literature

Greek and Latin language, The Classical Tradition in American culture, Comedy

Full Profile
Armstrong 238
(719) 389-6958

lhughes@coloradocollege.edu 

 

 


Najnin Islam
Najnin Islam

Assistant Professor

Global Anglophone Literature, Postcolonial Theory and Literature, Histories of Race and Caste, Atlantic and Indian Ocean Studies, Labor History

Full Profile
Armstrong 239A
(719) 389-6106

nislam@coloradocollege.edu

 


Genevieve LoveGenny Love

Professor and Associate Chair

Shakespeare, Non-Shakespearean Renaissance Drama, Milton, LGBTQ Literature

Full Profile
Armstrong 252
(719) 389-6507

glove@coloradocollege.edu

 

 


David MasonMason Cropped

Professor

On Sabbatical 2018-2019

Creative Writing, Poetry, Modern Greek Literature, Contemporary American Literature, 20th Century British and Irish Literature.

Full Profile
Armstrong 237
(719) 389-6502

dmason@coloradocollege.edu 

 

 


Natanya Ann PulleyNatanya Ann Pulley

Assistant Professor

Creative Writing (Fiction and Non-Fiction), Literature by Native Americans (Contemporary), Limit Texts & Experimental Literature

Full Profile
Armstrong 239
(719) 389-6633

natanya.pulley@coloradocollege.edu

 

 


Jared S. RichmanRichman 2

Associate Professor

Eighteenth-Century Literature & Culture, British Romanticism, Transatlantic Literature

Full Profile
Armstrong 240
(719) 389-6889

jared.richman@coloradocollege.edu

 

 


Barry_Sarchett

Barry Sarchett

Professor

Literary Theory, Film, Film Noir, 20th Century American Literature, Detective Fiction

Full Profile

Armstrong 242
(719) 389-6499

bsarchett@coloradocollege.edu

 


2018-2019 Full-year Visiting Faculty


Claire EagerClaire Eager Cropped

Visiting Assistant Professor

Medieval Literature and Shakespeare

Full Profile

Armstrong 240
(719) 389-6498

ceager@coloradocollege.edu

 


Merrill TurnerMerrill Turner

Visiting Assistant Professor

Modern British Literature

Full Profile

Armstrong 237
(719) 389-6502

mturner@coloradocollege.edu

 

 


Emeritus


Thomas Mauch

Professor Emeritus

Renaissance, Shakespeare, History of the English Language

tmauch@coloradocollege.edu


Adrienne Seward

Professor Emerita

Folklore, Africana Studies, Toni Morrison

aseward@coloradocollege.edu


simons

John Simons

Professor Emeritus

Modern American Literature, James Joyce, Film Studies

jsimons@coloradocollege.edu

 

 

 

 


tynan

Dan Tynan

Professor Emeritus

American Renaissance, American Realism, 20th Century American Literature, Literature & the Environment

dtynan@coloradocollege.edu

 

 


In Memoriam


Laura Padilla

padilla

Assistant Professor

Mexican-American Literature, Southwestern Literature

Professor Padilla passed away on March 16, 2014. Her teaching and scholarship are deeply missed by the College and particularly by her colleagues in the English Department.

Professor Padilla's obituary


Neale ReinitzReinitz

Professor Emeritus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Mark StavigStavig Cropped

Professor Emeritus

 

 

 

 

 

 


James YaffeYaffe

Professor Emeritus