Skip to main content area Skip to institutional navigation Skip to sub-navigation

Thesis Awards

The department offers several different awards for students who produce an outstanding thesis during their senior year.  Award recipients from the 2012-2013 academic year are listed below along with a short despcription of the award.

Ray O. Werner Thesis Award

Presented to the graduating senior who has written the most outstanding senior thesis. 

Elyse Miller: "The Hand of God or Death: Mitigating Earthquake Fatalities Through Aid and Infrastructure"


Robin Satterwhite Thesis Award

Presented to the graduating senior who has done outstanding innovative independent research, either towards his/her senior thesis or some other economics project.

Namgyal Angmo: "Modeling the Sustainability of Tourism in Leh, India 'The Little Tibet': An Econometric Analysis"

Kai Ory: "A New Approach to Acquiring Energy Savings: An Analysis of Homeowner Preferences for Energy Efficiency Programs"


Jerome V. Bruni Research Award

Presented to senior thesis writers who show promise to produce their thesis results in a peer reviewed journal or to present the paper at a peer reviewed academic meeting. 

Emil Dimantchev: "Biodiversity Conservation Through REDD+: Modeling Costs of Alternative REDD+ Scenarios in the Tropical Region"

Benjamin Snow: "Tinpots and Tyrants: The Effect of Economic Sanctions on the Longevity of Dictatorial Rule"

Lisa Sundeen: "Relationships Matter: Social Capital and Microfinance"

Daniel Ward "Trading Biopharmaceutical Stocks After Catastrophic One-Day Declines"