Skip to main content area Skip to block navigation Skip to institutional navigation Skip to sub-navigation

Unpublishing

We put content up on our sites and we take it back down.  Here are instructions on how to make your page "live" or hide it until you are ready to use it again.

"Publishing" a page is the term that dotCMS uses for making something available to visitors of you pages.  "Unpublishing" then is just the opposite.  There will be times when you want to work on a page without everyone seeing a work in progress and then make it live when you are ready.

Additionally, when creating or modifying any pages or content on your site, if you use the "Save & Publish" button when you finish editing, the item will be published immediately.

Note: Pages and content in your site will often times be listed with a colored circle that indicates their "Status".  A green circle indicates an item that is publish, yellow indicates unpublished, and red indicates archived.


How to Unpublish a Page:

  1. After logging in to dotCMS you will be taken to the Website Browser tab.
  2. Navigate to the page in your folder and page structure that you want to unpublish.
  3. Right click on the name of the page.
  4. Choose "Unpublish" from the menu that appears.
  5. The circle under "Status" for that page should now be yellow incdicating that the item is no longer live on your site.

Watch the video >>


How to Unpublish Content from a Page:

  1. From the dotCMS Administration Screen, click on the Content tab.
  2. Ensure that the correct content type is selected in the "Type" drop down on the left.
  3. Fill in any applicable fields, such as "Title"or "Folder/Host" to narrow down which items you will see in your search.
  4. Click "Search".
  5. Use the list that appears on the right to locate the content you wish to unpublish. 
  6. Right click on the name of the applicable item and choose "Unpublish".
  7. Your content item will still display for you when you are editing your page, but it WILL NOT show on the live site until you publish it again.
  8. Note: Unpublishing a piece of content removes it from the live site in ALL LOCATIONS where is appears, not just the page you unpublish it from.

Watch the video >>


How to Remove Content from a Page:

  1. After logging in to dotCMS you will be taken to the Website Browser tab.
  2. Navigate to the page in your site that you want to update and double click on the name to preview it in edit mode.
  3. Locate the portion of your page where you want to add a Web Page Content item, then click on the red "X" button above that area on the right.
  4. The content will be removed from the page, BUT NOT from dotCMS alltogether.
  5. In the administration column of the left of the page, click "Publish Page" and then click "OK" in the dialogue box that appears.

Watch the video >>


How to Archive Content:

  1. From the dotCMS Administration Screen, click on the Content tab.
  2. Ensure that the correct content type is selected in the "Type" drop down on the left.
  3. Fill in any applicable fields, such as "Title"or "Folder/Host" to narrow down which items you will see in your search.
  4. Click "Search".
  5. Use the list that appears on the right to locate the content you wish to unpublish. 
  6. Right click on the name of the applicable item and choose "Unpublish".
  7. Right click again on the name of the applicable item and choose "Archive".
  8. The item will no longer display in the list.
  9. Note: You can view Archived content by selecting the "Archived Only" checkbox when you do your search.  In that case you can right click on an item and select "Unarchive" to make the item usable again.

Watch the video >>


How to Archive a Page:

  1. After logging in to dotCMS you will be taken to the Website Browser tab.
  2. Navigate to the page in your folder and page structure that you want to upublish.
  3. Right click on the name of the page.
  4. Choose "Archive" from the menu that appears.
  5. The page will no longer display in the list.
  6. Note: To view pages that have been archived, click on the "Show Archived" icon in the bottom right of the window under the list of your folders and pages.

Watch the video >>