Skip to main content area Skip to block navigation Skip to institutional navigation Skip to sub-navigation

Board of Trustees

Previous Updates

November 2013 Trustee Update

The trustees had a very productive fall meeting. The board approved the following:

  • Emeritus status for several retired faculty members. Congratulations!
    • Donna Arnink– Professor Emerita, Drama and Dance
    • Margaret Duncombe – Professor Emerita, Sociology
    • Ronald Hathaway – Professor Emeritus, Biology
    • Bruce Kola – Lecturer Emeritus, Sport Science
    • Libby Rittenberg – Professor Emerita, Economics and Business
    • Adrienne Seward – Professor Emerita, English
    • Yun Yu Wang – Professor Emerita, Theatre and Dance
    • William Weida – Professor Emeritus, Economics and Business
  • A naming policy that will help guide the college in the naming of campus spaces and programs.
  • The external audit was approved. Because of the good work of many staff and faculty, there were no major findings.

In addition, the trustees worked on their Strategic Project Teams (SPTs). This year's SPTs are: (1) campaign planning, (2) library planning, (3) campus master plan/master communications plan, and (4) environmental stewardship and innovation. These teams are closely tied to the implementation of the strategic plan and the work of our campus-based action and knowledge-development teams.

Finally, the trustees recognized the contributions of four individuals who are transitioning from voting charter trustees to life trustees. These individuals — Bill Hybl, Mike Lampton, Doug Norberg, and Sue Woolsey — have generously shared their time, talents, and treasure with CC.

May 2013 Trustee Update

There were two main presentations during this meeting. Members from the Student Divestment Committee (SDC) gave the Investment Committee a presentation on the reasons the college should divest from fossil fuels. The president also presented the emerging themes and draft of the college's strategic plan. There was much excitement about this draft.

During the board's business meeting, trustees approved several key items:

  1. New Trustees - Two charter trustees, Andy Stenovec and Thayer Tutt; President-Elect of the Alumni Association Board Christine Schluter; and 2013-14 Student Trustee Joel Begay. Three trustees received life trustee status: Bill Hybl, Doug Norberg, and Sue Woolsey.
  2. Two college-wide policies (required for compliance) – (1)The Policy on Gift Administration and (2) The Code of Ethical Conduct/Conflict of Interest.
  3. Emeritus Status to Professor Paul Kuerbis. Congratulations Paul!
  4. New Board Officers – Eben Moulton (chair), Phil Swan (vice-chair), Susie Burghart (secretary)

Additionally, the board joined the campus community for the public opening of the newly renovated El Pomar Sports Center and Adam F. Press Fitness Center. The trustees will meet again in July for their retreat, when they will approve the college's strategic plan.

February 2013 Trustee Update

The February 2013 Board of Trustees meeting began on Thursday, February 21. There were several presentations given by the president and the president's cabinet. Among many things, the president gave the board updates on our Year of Planning and the dean of students/vp for student life updated the trustees on new activities in the Career Center and the upcoming Slocum renovations.

At the business meeting, which was held on Saturday, February 23, the board also approved several key items, which include:

  1. The 2013-2014 budget that includes next year's tuition and fees
  2. The president’s tenure recommendations for Megan Anderson, Geology; Steven Hayward, English; Miro Kummel, Environmental Science; and Jane Murphy, History
  3. Honorary degrees
  4. Emerita Status to Laurel Watkins

Currently, the board is finalizing bylaw changes, and will be heavily engaged in the selection of their next chairperson. The next board meeting is May 2-4.

September 2012 Trustee Update

The Colorado College Board of Trustees arrived on campus on Thursday, September 20, and began their meeting with committee business. On Friday, trustees received an update on the strategic planning process and heard a presentation from students and faculty who completed benchmarking research over the summer. The business portion of their meeting concluded Saturday morning, September 22, with the full Board voting to approve professor emeritus status for Bob Loevy. New trustee Lynne Cheney ’63 was sworn in at this time as well.

Much of the trustees’ time on campus was devoted to participating in inaugural events including: the campus-wide community service project; a dinner with the president and special guests; the installation ceremony; and the reception, dinner, and ball following the inauguration.

July 2012 Trustee Update

The Colorado College Board of Trustees met in mid-July for a retreat, during which most of their time was spent completing visioning exercises in preparation for the upcoming year of strategic planning. In addition, they conducted a business session where the following items were approved:

  1. Swearing in of new trustees:
    • Samantha Barlow ’13 (student trustee)
    • Angela Cobian ’11 (young alumni trustee)
    • Heather Carroll ’89 (alumni trustee)
  2. Election of new standing committee chairs and vice-chairs
    • Governance – Phil Swan (chair)
    • Audit - Sue Allon (chair), Bill Campbell (vice-chair)
    • Investment - Eben Moulton (chair), Adam Press (vice-chair)
    • Budget and Finance - Amy Louis (chair)
  3. Resolution charging the president to complete a strategic plan for the college during the coming year.
  4. Review of athletics programs (See Trustee Statement on Athletics Programs)

May 2012 Trustee Update

The Colorado College Board of Trustees kicked off their recent on-campus meeting Thursday evening, May 17, with a celebratory dinner to thank key divisional staff for their efforts in making the 2011-12 year a success. They participated in the dedication of the Richard F. Celeste Theatre on Friday, May 18. Former President Dick Celeste returned for the ceremony and lunch that followed.

Trustees interacted with faculty while on campus, learning more about the arts within the liberal arts from Professors Scott Johnson, Susan Grace, and David Mason. They also dined with CC endowed professors and listened to Professor Anne Hyde as she spoke about her Bancroft Prize-winning book, “Empires, Nations and Families: A History of the North American West, 1800-1860.”

Board members spent much of their time on campus discussing committee business, voting to approve emeritus status for Professor Peggy Berg; Samantha Barlow as the first student trustee; re-election to new four-year terms for trustees Van Skilling, Cole Wilbur, Brian Williamson, and Jack Wold; and re-election for the 2012-13 year for Board officers Sue Woolsey, chair; Bob Manning, co-vice-chair; Nancy Woodrow, co-vice-chair; and Mike Lampton, secretary. Their meeting concluded on Saturday, May 19.